Research Databases

American National Biography Online

Discover biographies of more than 19,000 men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped American history and culture. From missionaries to musicians, social workers to statisticians, cowboys to chemists, and Vikings to astronauts, the portraits in the American National Biography Online reflect the rich diversity of American life from pre-colonial times to the present day. Featuring thousands of illustrations, and tens of thousands of hyperlinked cross-references and links to other (select) websites, the American National Biography is a powerful research tool for all levels of study.

Anthropological Index Online

Provides citations of journal articles in selected journals in anthropology and related disciplines.

AnthroSource

Provides the full-text of journals published by the American Anthropological Association.

eHRAF World Cultures

Provides access to information on all aspects of cultural and social life around the world. A useful, free companion resource, Explaining Human Culture, is also available. eHRAF Video Tutorials

JSTOR

A trusted digital archive of academic journals and other scholarly content, including ebooks. Most journals include extended historic backfiles and not current issues. Arts and Sciences collections 1 thru XV are available, plus the Life Sciences collection. JSTOR and our participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to our participating institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19. They are providing access to all unlicensed collections and access to more than 25,000 books through Jun 30, 2020.

JSTOR Open Access Books

More than 6,000 Open Access ebooks from 75+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.

Naxos Music Library World

Offers a wide range of World music, from legendary historical musical performances to contemporary world music. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

Provides rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. SSRN consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 654,000 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 547,600 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

US Newsstream

US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Titles in this database include: The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune, all searchable on the ProQuest platform.