Research Databases

America: History and Life

Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

American National Biography Online

Discover biographies of more than 19,000 men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped American history and culture. From missionaries to musicians, social workers to statisticians, cowboys to chemists, and Vikings to astronauts, the portraits in the American National Biography Online reflect the rich diversity of American life from pre-colonial times to the present day. Featuring thousands of illustrations, and tens of thousands of hyperlinked cross-references and links to other (select) websites, the American National Biography is a powerful research tool for all levels of study.

APA PsycInfo

Provides citations of journal articles and other resources in psychology, and the psychological aspects of other disciplines.

BioMed Central

BioMed Central is part of Springer/Nature and publishes 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Provides citations of journal articles in communication and media studies.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a collection of peer-reviewed open access e-journals

ERIC

Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles in education and citations of other education-related documents.

JSTOR

A trusted digital archive of academic journals and other scholarly content, including ebooks. Most journals include extended historic backfiles and not current issues. Arts and Sciences collections 1 thru XV are available, plus the Life Sciences collection. JSTOR and our participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to our participating institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19. They are providing access to all unlicensed collections and access to more than 25,000 books through Jun 30, 2020.

JSTOR Open Access Books

More than 6,000 Open Access ebooks from 75+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.

Kanopy (Streaming Video)

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service that provides access to more than 26,000 educational videos via the web and on mobile devices. Major subjects covered include: the arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. All users can browse and search films in addition to watching leased content. Faculty and staff can request films for curriculum use or student development.

Oxford Handbooks Online: Psychology

provides full text access to the peer-reviewed volumes in the Oxford handbooks series related to psychology.

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

Provides access to a unique collection of 100 academic journals that present scholarly research in multiple disciplines. Although this resource offers several collections, Buswell Library provides access specifically to Collection 1.

Policy File Index

Provides online access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers.

Professional Development Collection

Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles of interest to professional educators.

Project Muse

Provides the full text from a selected set of journals and ebooks in many disciplines.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Full Text

Provides a very large collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the U.S.

The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.

SAGE Knowledge

A database of ebooks and reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology.

SpringerLink

Provides journal articles and ebooks in many disciplines, from journals published by Springer (and formerly Kluwer).