Research Databases

19th Century British Pamphlets on JSTOR

19th Century British Pamphlets contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom. Over 26,000 pamphlets are digitized in this collection. JSTOR has provided temporary access to this database until Jun 30, 2020

Academic Search Ultimate

A multidisciplinary source of more than 8,500 sources including more than 4,600 full text periodicals, of which more than 3,900 are scholarly. this database is being made freely available by the publisher until Jun 30, 2020

Academic Video Online (Streaming Video)

Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. upon first entry into this resource, you will be asked to verify through reCAPTCHA. Then choose Academic Online Video from the Trial page.

Annual Reviews

Provides authoritative, analytic reviews in 33 focused disciplines within the biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Annual Reviews has temporarily removed their access controls to their content due to COVID-19

BioMed Central

BioMed Central is part of Springer/Nature and publishes 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.

Bloomsbury Medieval Studies

Bloomsbury Medieval Studies offers a global perspective on this rich field of study, bringing together high quality secondary content with visual primary sources, a brand new reference work and object images in a one-stop digital resource that will open up the medieval world. This collection is being made freely available by the publisher until May 31, 2020

Bloomsbury Theology and Religion Online

Theology and Religion Online offers students and scholars a richly layered resource devoted and dedicated to research, study, and teaching in Theology, Biblical Studies, and Religious Studies. This collection is being made freely available by the publisher until May 31, 2020

Business Source Ultimate

Business Source Ultimate works for your students like a solid business plan. It offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world. this database is being made freely available by the publisher until Jun 30, 2020

Cambridge Core Books

Provides the full-text of selected books in many disciplines. Due to performance issues caused by both unprecedented demand and reported misuse, Cambridge University Press has temporarily removed free access to textbooks.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

DOAB provides open access to over 854 Academic peer-reviewed books from 25 publishers.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a collection of peer-reviewed open access e-journals

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)

This is a multidisciplinary eBook collection representing a broad range of academic subject matter. There are nearly 120,000 eBooks in this package, including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, MIT Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Additional academic publishers include Elsevier Ltd.; Brill Academic Publishers; Taylor & Francis Ltd; Sage Publications, Ltd. and John Wiley & Sons, Inc. This database is being made freely available by the publisher until Jun 30, 2020

EBSCO Faculty Select

Faculty Select is a single interface where faculty can easily discover and access Open Educational Resources (OER), as well as find and request access to unrestricted, DRM-free e-books from top academic publishers. With this option, EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020. Contact your EBSCO representative if you have any questions or want to learn more.

Hathi Trust Digital Library

a repository providing access to public domain and in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

JSTOR

A trusted digital archive of academic journals and other scholarly content, including ebooks. Most journals include extended historic backfiles and not current issues. Arts and Sciences collections 1 thru XV are available, plus the Life Sciences collection. JSTOR and our participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to our participating institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19. They are providing access to all unlicensed collections and access to more than 25,000 books through Jun 30, 2020.

JSTOR Global Plants

Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration. JSTOR has provided temporary access to this database until Jun 30, 2020

JSTOR Open Access Books

More than 6,000 Open Access ebooks from 75+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.

Kanopy (Streaming Video)

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service that provides access to more than 26,000 educational videos via the web and on mobile devices. Major subjects covered include: the arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. All users can browse and search films in addition to watching leased content. Faculty and staff can request films for curriculum use or student development. Free access temporarily opened up to Great Courses and kanopy spotlight list through April 12, 2020

NCBI Bookshelf

free online access to ebooks and documents in life sciences and healthcare.

NewspaperARCHIVE

NewspaperARCHIVE is the world's best resource for historical and genealogical information. Our unique archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more. This database is being made freely available by the publisher until Jun 30, 2020

Project Muse

Provides the full text from a selected set of journals and ebooks in many disciplines. Many academic presses have opened up their content (e-books and e-journals) for free. Project Muse has most of these on their platform for free. Most of the content is available until the end of May or end of June. For a list of publishers offering free content temporarily please click here

Project Muse Open Access

open access ejournals and ebooks from university presses and scholarly societies.

ProQuest Ebook Central

Provides the full-text of selected books in many disciplines. ProQuest has made their academic ebook collection available to us through Jun 25, 2020.

SAGE Knowledge

A database of ebooks and reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology. This publisher has made all of the eBooks and reference materials freely available in this database until Jun 25, 2020

Sage Open Access Journals

Contains pure gold open access journals published by SAGE. All articles published in the journals provide worldwide, barrier-free access to the full-text of articles online, immediately on publication under a creative commons license. All articles are rigorously peer-reviewed retaining the quality hallmarks of the academic publishing process that authors would experience in publishing in any traditional SAGE journal.

Sage Video (Streaming Video)

SAGE Video showcases highly relevant educational video across key social science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs. All videos are fully citable with searchable transcripts, custom clip creation and embedding. This database is being made freely available by the publisher until Jun 25, 2020. We have access to the following collections:
  • Business & Management This extensive and diverse collection includes in-depth interviews with experts from across the globe on topics as varied as innovation management, corporate social responsibility and social media marketing. View the very latest insights from marketing practitioners at brands including Kellogg’s and McDonald’s and watch management professionals, business leaders, entrepreneurs and marketers at work.
  • Counseling & Psychotherapy This collection includes many tutorials, such as Mick Cooper on Empathy and Listening, multiple interviews with leading experts such as Jerrold Lee Shapiro on Existential Psychotherapy and John McLeod on Evidence-Based Practice, along with many more films addressing teaching, learning and practitioner issues.
  • Nursing This collection goes beyond clinical skills videos to include content that emphasizes “softer” career-building skills and techniques that help nurses better understand and care for the “whole patient.” Some of the specific areas covered include: communication skills, nursing theory and history, global and population health, and nurses’ role in advocacy and policy. Designed to complement nursing clinical skills education, this collection helps students understand and treat the “whole patient” and be able to respond to the rapidly changing health care system.
  • Politics & International Relations This collection includes videos that reinforce course fundamentals, introduce new perspectives and bring theory to life with in-practice examples. With content types designed to fit a variety of learning and research needs, interviews with renowned experts cover subjects including international migration, political philosophy and the international relations of China.
  • Psychology This collection features videos covering different content types that will help users instruct, learn, think deeply, and become even more curious. See professional psychologists in action, such as forensic psychologists working inside a prison, or clinical psychologists treating patients with a variety of mental health disorders; or venture back to the field’s beginnings via footage of John B. Watson or Muzafer Sherif’s early experiments.
  • Sociology The Sociology Collection covers the full spectrum of the Sociology discipline and supports students and researchers at all levels.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region. JSTOR has provided temporary access to this database until Jun 30, 2020

U.S Documents Masterfile

Federal documents facilitate research in history, American studies, political science, foreign policy, business, economics, education, law, sociology, science, engineering, and medicine. This database is being made freely available by the publisher until Jun 30, 2020

World Heritage Sites: Africa

World Heritage Sites: Africa links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The collection includes more than 57,000 objects including photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, images of rock art, excavation reports, manuscripts, traveler’s accounts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research. JSTOR has provided temporary access to this database until Jun 30, 2020