Research Databases

1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W

SAGE Journals

Provides journal articles in multiple disciplines.

SAGE Knowledge

A database of ebooks and reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology. This publisher has made all of the eBooks and reference materials freely available in this database until Jun 25, 2020

Sage Open Access Journals

Contains pure gold open access journals published by SAGE. All articles published in the journals provide worldwide, barrier-free access to the full-text of articles online, immediately on publication under a creative commons license. All articles are rigorously peer-reviewed retaining the quality hallmarks of the academic publishing process that authors would experience in publishing in any traditional SAGE journal.

Sage Video (Streaming Video)

SAGE Video showcases highly relevant educational video across key social science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs. All videos are fully citable with searchable transcripts, custom clip creation and embedding. This database is being made freely available by the publisher until Jun 25, 2020. We have access to the following collections:
  • Business & Management This extensive and diverse collection includes in-depth interviews with experts from across the globe on topics as varied as innovation management, corporate social responsibility and social media marketing. View the very latest insights from marketing practitioners at brands including Kellogg’s and McDonald’s and watch management professionals, business leaders, entrepreneurs and marketers at work.
  • Counseling & Psychotherapy This collection includes many tutorials, such as Mick Cooper on Empathy and Listening, multiple interviews with leading experts such as Jerrold Lee Shapiro on Existential Psychotherapy and John McLeod on Evidence-Based Practice, along with many more films addressing teaching, learning and practitioner issues.
  • Nursing This collection goes beyond clinical skills videos to include content that emphasizes “softer” career-building skills and techniques that help nurses better understand and care for the “whole patient.” Some of the specific areas covered include: communication skills, nursing theory and history, global and population health, and nurses’ role in advocacy and policy. Designed to complement nursing clinical skills education, this collection helps students understand and treat the “whole patient” and be able to respond to the rapidly changing health care system.
  • Politics & International Relations This collection includes videos that reinforce course fundamentals, introduce new perspectives and bring theory to life with in-practice examples. With content types designed to fit a variety of learning and research needs, interviews with renowned experts cover subjects including international migration, political philosophy and the international relations of China.
  • Psychology This collection features videos covering different content types that will help users instruct, learn, think deeply, and become even more curious. See professional psychologists in action, such as forensic psychologists working inside a prison, or clinical psychologists treating patients with a variety of mental health disorders; or venture back to the field’s beginnings via footage of John B. Watson or Muzafer Sherif’s early experiments.
  • Sociology The Sociology Collection covers the full spectrum of the Sociology discipline and supports students and researchers at all levels.

Sanborn Maps of Illinois, 1867-1970

Provides digital facsimiles of historical maps of many cities and towns in Illinois.

Saskia Art Images (CARLI)

Provides digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture.

ScienceDirect

Provides journal articles in many scientific disciplines. Also includes many ebooks and reference works published by Elsevier. Sometimes referred to as Science Direct.

SciFinder

The most comprehensive database, produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), for chemical literature. Allows users to explore the CAS database which contains literature for many scientific disciplines. First time Wheaton users will need to register for an account. Please click here to learn how to create your account. Please email the Chemistry Librarian with any questions.

SingersBabel

Offers tools to help you learn the meaning and pronunciation of texts found in oratorios, secular and sacred choral music, cantatas, art songs, and song cycles.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

Provides rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. SSRN consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 654,000 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 547,600 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

SPIE Digital Library

Contains the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. Includes full-text of several key journals in the field including the Journal of Medical Imaging as well as conference proceedings and ebooks published by SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics.

SportDiscus

Provides citations of journal articles in sports, physical fitness, physical education, and related disciplines.

SpringerLink

Provides journal articles and ebooks in many disciplines, from journals published by Springer (and formerly Kluwer).

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region. JSTOR has provided temporary access to this database until Jun 30, 2020