Research Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W

PapersFirst

Provides citations of papers presented and subsequently published that were received by the British Library Document Supply Centre.

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

Provides access to a unique collection of 100 academic journals that present scholarly research in multiple disciplines. Although this resource offers several collections, Buswell Library provides access specifically to Collection 1.

Philosopher's Index

Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles and other resources in philosophy and the philosophical aspects of other disciplines.

Philpapers: Philosophical Research Online

Joint US/UK/Australian project providing some full text articles and otherwise citations to articles, books, and papers in philosophy. Monitors around 350 philosophy journals.

Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)

Provides citations and abstracts of all journals published by the American Physical Society, and the full text of the entire run of Reviews of Modern Physics, Physical Review E, and Physical Review Letters.

PILOTS

Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles and other resources on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.

Policy File Index

Provides online access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers.

Political Science Complete

Provides citations of journal articles in Political Science.

Primary Search

Provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

ProceedingsFirst

Provides citations of papers presented and subsequently published that were received by the British Library Document Supply Centre.

Professional Development Collection

Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles of interest to professional educators.

Project Muse

Provides the full text from a selected set of journals and ebooks in many disciplines.

Project Muse Open Access

open access ejournals and ebooks from university presses and scholarly societies.

ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database

ProQuest built this database in response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). The company is working together with institutions all over the world to offer support as they navigate through the coronavirus pandemic. This launch of the Coronavirus Research Database is the latest in a series of programs to help librarians, faculty and students.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Full Text

Provides a very large collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

ProQuest Ebook Central

Provides the full-text of selected books in many disciplines.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender

Full-text of the historically Black newspaper, which was distributed nationwide, from 1909-1975. Articles can be displayed individually or in a page map, which displays the article in its original context as printed on the page. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune

Full-text of the newspaper from 1894-1994. Articles can be displayed individually or in a page map, which displays the article in its original context as printed on the page. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times

Provides full page and article images with searchable full-text of the New York Times from its inception in 1851 to 2012. Current online full-text (with images) is available in New York Times. We also have online full-text access (no images) 1980-present available in Nexis Uni . The print issue is retained for three weeks only.

ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the U.S.

The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.

PsycCRITIQUES

PsycCritiques is a book reviewing tool published by the American Psychological Association (APA). PsycCRITIQUES contains full-text reviews of books in psychology and the social sciences, as well as professional videos and popular films from a psychological perspective. Reviews occasionally include comparative or retrospective book reviews. The database also includes all reviews published in the print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books between 1956 (Volume 1, Issue 1) and 2004. PsycCritiques ended publication in Fall 2017, and its contents is now available in open access from the University of Akron.

Psychological Experiments Online

A multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries.

PubMed Central

Provides the full text of journal articles from a selected set of journals in the discipline of medicine and health.