2 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Provides basic information about occupations, such as working conditions, training and other qualifications, job outlook, and earnings.

Old Testament Abstracts

Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, and chapters in books in the discipline of Biblical studies.

Opera in Video

Contains nearly 300 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries, delivered online through streaming video. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.

Oxford Art Online

Provides full text, searchable access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Anthropology

Providing expert commentary to help students and scholars of anthropology to find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. Provides direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organized around discrete subject entries that allow for quick and easy navigation.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Biblical Studies

Offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this guides researchers to the best available scholarship in Biblical Studies.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Renaissance and Reformation

Offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this guides researchers to the best available scholarship in the Renaissance and Reformation.

Oxford Dictionary of Christian Art and Architecture

A guide to the broad range of terms used in the study of the history of Christian art and architecture, including themes, artists, and movements. The long-awaited new edition includes entries by over a dozen expert contributors, bringing it up to date for the 21st century.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

The record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.

Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance

Contains 4,000 searchable entries covering all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe.

Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought

Offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. All major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion will be covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt

Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000-year civilization.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation

Provides detailed, comprehensive treatments of the latest approaches to and methods for interpretation of the Bible written by expert practitioners.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Politics

Brings together entries organized thematically around the major themes of political science: concepts, values, thought, ideologies, structures, institutions, and systems. It covers in-depth topics that are unique to the Muslim world, including basic beliefs; Muslim political history; Islam in specific geographic regions; thinkers and reformers; movements, society and economy; and international relations.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Archaeology

Represents a new way of conceiving of the relationship between archaeology and biblical studies that allows the results of a wide cross-section of excavations and regional studies to contribute to the interpretation of the biblical text through an elucidation of the lifeways of the ancient world.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics

Explores the intersection between biblical sources and ethical issues, both historical and modern, through extensive analytical and constructive treatments of a wide range of topics by leading biblical scholars and ethicists.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies

Explores the ways in which gender is constructed in the diverse texts, cultures, and readers that constitute “the world of the Bible.” With contributions from leading scholars in gender and biblical studies as well as contemporary gender theorists, classicists, archaeologists, and ancient historians, this comprehensive reference work reflects the diverse and interdisciplinary nature of the field and traces both historical and modern conceptions of gender and sexuality in the Bible.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Law

Provides an up-to-date and extensive treatment of the Bible and law. In comprehensive overviews, scholars at the forefront of biblical studies and law address three foci: biblical law itself--its nature, collections, and genres; the ancient contexts of biblical law, throughout the ancient Mediterranean (ancient Near Eastern, Greco-Roman, and Early Jewish); and the afterlife and influence of biblical law in antiquity and in modern jurisprudence around the world.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible

Contains articles on each of the canonical books of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important non-canonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation

The definitive source for information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.

Oxford English Dictionary

Provides the full text of The Oxford English Dictionary (OED), 2nd edition, with updates and additional special features.

Oxford Handbooks Online: Classical Studies

Complete searchable texts of the Oxford handbooks in classical studies.

Oxford Handbooks Online: Religion

Complete searchable texts of the Oxford handbooks in religion.

Oxford Music Online

Provides the full text of all articles published in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition. Now also contains The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Religion

Part of Oxford Scholarship Online, the subject area Religion provides cross-searchable, fully-indexed access to the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the area of religion. Includes coverage of: Biblical studies, Buddhism, Church history, Early Christian studies, Hinduism, History of Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Philosophy of religion, Religion and literature, Religion and society. Religion in the ancient world, Sikhism, Theology, and World religions.